Fedewa Flies to Fourth Win in 6:50

By Mike Strevel

FLINT, Mich. (June 14, 2003) –
The Auto Value/Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints made their second appearance of the season at the Auto City Speedway Saturday evening and it was a record setting night.

The 2002 car owners champion and current points leader Tom Fedewa captured his fourth feature win of the season and second of the weekend. He did it in incredible fashion as the 21 car-starting field cruised around the 7/16-mile oval for 30 consecutive green flag laps in only six minutes and fifty seconds a new record at the legendary Flint MI oval.

The beautiful day started with Hamilton Trucking qualifications and another record falls as Terre Haute IN racer Kevin “The Gasman” Newton broke Hank Lower’s track record at a 12.90 time. In an amazing story Brian Lay was second quick at 13.11 and this was after his team worked all night and into the day Saturday to replace the entire drive line on his car and he got to the track only 15 minutes before qualifying. It was Rick Baker third quick at 13.14.

The 26-car field was ready for heat race action and capturing the United Trailers Heat race was Chris Hayes. The Dowker Engines heat race went to three-time champion Gary Fedewa and the Wolverine Steel heat race win went to Fremont OH racer Doug Berryman. The 12 lap B-Main was picked up by Hank Lower over Lay, Troy Underwood, Dennis Venia and Ryan Davis. The Lane Automotive/Aeroquip Provisional was awarded to Ryan Katz making a 21 car-starting field for the 30 lap main event.

The gigantic Father’s Day weekend crowd cheered the AVSS three wide salute to the fans and then it was time for Columbus OH driver Don Townsend and Bill Jacoby of Marshall MI to lead the field to the green. The start had Jacoby taking the early lead with Tom Fedewa and Jason Blonde in hot pursuit. The race was caution free, so there was a lot of incredible racing through traffic. The pass for the lead and eventual win came on lap seven as T.Fedewa had been working at Jacoby for several laps and made the move off of turn four and got by Jacoby by the time he got to turn one.

This was all the Leslie MI racer would need as he eventually lapped all the way up to 12th place in the feature of 30 laps that was completed in a record pace of 6:50! The Litchfield MI driver Blonde was able to get by Jacoby on lap 17, but had virtually no chance of catching T.Fedewa without a caution flag. There was incredible action throughout the pack and all drivers are to be congratulated on putting on an incredible show for the Auto City fans. The driver of the Katz Well Drilling car thanked the great people at Dowker Engines; his hard working crew and car owner Mike Katz.

The top ten finishers were T. Fedewa, Blonde, Jacoby, Kevin Feeney, Bill Tyler, Townsend, Newton, Doug Stepke, Jeff Bloom and Lower. The Suspension Spring Specialist Driver of the race was Newton and he also picked up $200.00 from Hamilton Trucking for fast time and a new track record.

The AVSS will next compete at Baer Field Speedway in Fort Wayne IN Saturday June 21. The official AVSS website is www.supersprints.com. A big thanks you to the great management of Auto City Speedway for the great new paved track.


1. 99 Kevin Newton 12.90 (NTR) 2. 45 Brian Lay 13.11 3. 4B Rick Baker 13.14 4. 37 Hank Lower 13.18 5. 24 Bill Tyler 13.22 6. 98 Kevin Feeney 13.23 7. 20 Tom Fedewa 13.27 8. 55 Jason Blonde 13.33 9. 44J Bill Jacoby 13.34 10. 77 Don Townsend 13.35 11. 70 Dennis Craft 13.39 12. 71 Curt Shumaker 13.43 13. 26 Jeff Bloom 13.44 14. 66 Doug Stepke 13.47 15. 1R Doug Berryman 13.48 16. 11 Chris Hayes 13.58 17. 42 Gary Fedewa 13.59 18. 35 Ryan Katz 13.65 19. 11 Dennis Venia 13.69 20. 4 Troy Underwood 13.74 21. 97 Ben Hidy 13.83 22. 8 Ryan Davis 13.83 23. 7X Jeremy Dickerson 13.91 24. 27 Rick Toncray 13.92 25. 69 Tracy Rice 14.09 26. JB Johnboy Hotchkiss 14.48

Heat results United Trailers heat 1.Hayes 2.T.Fedewa 3.Bloom 4.Newton 5.Townsend 6.Venia 7.Rice 8. Davis 9.Lower

Heat two Dowker Engines heat 1. Gary Fedewa 2.Stepke 3.Blonde 4.Tyler 5.Craft 6.Underwood 7.Lay 8.Dickerson

Heat three Wolverine Steel heat 1.Berryman 2.Shumaker 3.Baker 4.Feeney 5.Jacoby 6.Hidy 7.Toncray 8. Katz

B-Main 1. Lower 2. Lay 3. Underwood 4.Venia 5. Davis 6. Toncray 7. Hidy 8.Rice 9.Dickerson 10. Katz

A-Main 1. T.Fedewa 2. Blonde 3. Jacoby 4. Feeney 5. Tyler 6. Townsend 7. Newton 8. Stepke 9. Bloom 10. Lower 11. Katz 12. Baker 13. G.Fedewa 14. Shumaker 15. Lay 16. Hayes 17. Underwood 18. Berryman 19. Craft 20. Venia 21. Davis