Tom Fedewa Wins Fourth Consecutive Feature at Auto City

By Mike Strevel

FLINT, Mich. (August 23, 2003) –
The Auto City Speedway in Flint MI was the host of the Auto Value/Bumper to Bumper Super Sprint Series Saturday evening and taking his fourth win there in four tries this season was Leslie MI racer Tom Fedewa.

The driver of the Mike Katz owned 20 car is now perfect at the 7/16-mile oval this year with victories in all four AVSS events run this season here.

The beautiful day started with 21 AVSS teams checking into the pits and after hot laps it was time for Hamilton Trucking qualifications. The fastest of the fast was Jason Blonde with a 12.94 lap only 4/100 off the track record. It was Dave Baumgartner second quick at 13.03 and Curt Shumaker third fastest at 13.05.

The three heat races were hotly contested and taking the United Trailers heat was Tom Fedewa, the Dowker Engines heat went to Gary Fedewa and Jimmy McCune took the Wolverine Steel heat win. The B-main was dropped in favor of starting all 21 cars in the 30-lap feature.

The feature had Johnboy Hotchkiss and Troy Underwood on the front row as the inversion for the feature was eight. The 21-car field saluted the great Auto City fans with the traditional AVSS three-wide salute and then it was time to get down to business. The early leader was Jackson MI driver Underwood, who looked great in his Thunder chassis and was hunting for his first ever AVSS feature. He did a great job of holding off all challengers until nearing the halfway point of the race. There were a couple of minor cautions early in the race, but the fifth place starting Fedewa was on the move trying to chase down Underwood. It took until lap 14 for Fedewa to make his move and he passed Underwood down the long Auto City front stretch to take the lead and eventual victory. The battle for second was hot and heavy as Underwood fought off eighth place starter Blonde the second half of the race and did hold him off to match his best ever AVSS finish in his career.

The driver of the Katz Well Drilling, Allegra Printing, Gymer Chiropractic 20 car thanked his hard working crew in victory lane and dedicated this win to the great Auto City fans who support AVSS so greatly at the tricky 7/16 oval. The top ten finishers were Tom Fedewa, Underwood, Blonde, Baumgartner, Hank Lower, Jeff Bloom, Kevin Newton, Curt Shumaker, Kevin Feeney and Brian Lay. The winner of the $100.00 Hamilton Trucking fast time award was Blonde and Hank Lower picked up the Suspension Spring Specialist drive of the race award

. The AVSS stars get busy for a big doubleheader next weekend with Saturday night August 30 at the Berlin Raceway in Marne MI and Sunday night at Angola Speedway in Angola IN. These Labor Day weekend races are always hotly contested affairs with large car counts and incredible action. It was Tom Fedewa taking the honors back in June at Berlin and hopefully this time the AVSS stars will be able to capture the track record at the fast 7/16-mile oval, which is currently 13.080 held by Tom Fedewa. The action begins at Berlin with pit gates opening at 11; hot laps start at 1, qualifying at 4 and races at 7. The next day at Angola the pit gates open at 2cst, hot laps at 3, qualifying at 5 and racing at 7:15. The news can be found at for more information.


Qualifying- 1. 55 Jason Blonde 12.94 2. 14 Dave Baumgartner 13.03 3. 71 Curt Shumaker 13.05 4. 20 Tom Fedewa 13.10 5. 37 Hank Lower 13.10 6. 44j Dennis Craft 13.17 7. 4 Troy Underwood 13.18 8. JB Johnboy Hotchkiss 13.23 9. 45 Brian Lay 13.26 10. 11 Jerry Kelley 13.26 11. 35 Ryan Katz 13.28 12. 27 Bill Tyler 13.35 13. 26 Jeff Bloom 13.38 14. 33 Kevin Feeney 13.39 15. 8 Ryan Davis 13.41 16. 99 Kevin Newton 13.41 17. 42 Gary Fedewa 13.44 18. 92 George Gustafson 13.55 19. 3A Mike Astrauskas 13.71 20. 69 Doug Stepke 13.84 21. 61 Jimmy McCune 13.93

United Trailers heat-1. T.Fedewa 2. Blonde 3. Newton 4. Kelley 5. Astrauskas 6. Underwood 7. Bloom

Dowker Engines heat- 1.G.Fedewa 2. Lower 3. Stepke 4. Katz 5. Baumgartner 6. Feeney 7. Hotchkiss

Wolverine Steel heat-1. McCune 2. Tyler 3. Davis 4. Shumaker 5. Lay 6. Craft 7. Gustafson

30 lap feature- 1. T.Fedewa 2. Underwood 3. Blonde 4. Baumgartner 5. Lower 6. Bloom 7. Newton 8. Shumaker 9. Feeney 10. Lay 11. McCune 12. Katz 13. G.Fedewa 14. Astrauskas 15. Kelley 16. Stepke 17. Tyler 18. Craft 19. Hotchkiss 20. Davis 21. Gustafson