Feeney Wins Auto City AVSS Finale

By Mike Strevel

FLINT, Mich. (September 6, 2003) –
The Auto City Speedway in Flint MI hosted the Auto Value/Bumper to Bumper Super Sprint Series Saturday evening. It was Auto Value night at the tricky 7/16-mile oval and winning his first AVSS feature of the season was Oxford MI driver Kevin Feeney.

The day started off with 22 AVSS checking into the pits for the final time this season at the Flint area oval. The track was very fast as Hamilton trucking qualifications began. The fast qualifier winning $100.00 was troy Underwood of Jackson MI at 12.96. The 55 car of Jason Blonde was second fastest at 12.97 and Jimmy McCune was third at 13.00.

The United Trailers heat race went to Brian Lay, Tim Cox picked up the Dowker heat and Tom Fedorczyk won the Wolverine Steel heat. The B-main was dropped in favor of starting all 21 cars in the 30 lap main event.

The inversion for the feature was six, so this placed Feeney and Cox on the front row. The gigantic crowd cheered on the three wide AVSS salute as the cars readied for combat. The race started with Cox taking the early lead. The Park City IL driver was cruising until lap five when the car got very loose coming out of turn two and slid up the track and into the dirt sliding to a halt. This cost Cox the lead and he would have to restart in the back. This gave the lead to Feeney and he held off all challengers for the rest of the race as it went green the final 26 laps. There were several occasions when Jimmy McCune closed on Feeney as they both dealt with the lapped traffic, but he could not complete the pass. The very happy Feeney took the checkered flag and all of his excited crew came running out of the pits to celebrate.

The driver of the Arthur Payne owned machine thanked Phil Zang his crew chief, all of his friends and family that were there and all of the area Boy Scouts who were there on a special night to cheer on Feeney. The top ten finishers were Feeney, McCune, Dave Baumgartner, Kevin Newton, Underwood, Ryan Katz, Tom Fedewa, Jeff Bloom, Johnboy Hotchkiss and Rick Baker. The Suspension Spring Specialist driver of the race was Curt Shumaker and Underwood took the money in Hamilton Trucking qualifications. The entire staff of AVSS would like to thank Auto City for their great hospitality all season long and look forward to a great 2004 at the action track Auto City Speedway. The AVSS website is www.supersprints.com for more news.

The AVSS cars head next to the Dixie Speedway in Birch Run MI Friday September 12 for the second to last race of the season. The highbanked 4/10-mile oval hosted AVSS on July 3 with Gary Fedewa winning the first AVSS feature on the new track. The action begins with pit gates opening at 2:00, hot laps at 4 and racing at 7:00.


Qualifying- 1. 4 Troy Underwood 12.96 2. 55 Jason Blonde 12.97 3. 61 Jimmy McCune 13.00 4. 14 Dave Baumgartner 13.02 5. 40 Tim Cox 13.02 6. 33 Kevin Feeney 13.09 7. 11 Curt Shumaker 13.10 8. 20 Tom Fedewa 13.13 9. 35 Ryan Katz 13.14 10. 99 Kevin Newton 13.14 11. 26 Jeff Bloom 13.15 12. JB Johnboy Hotchkiss 13.22 13. 4B Rick Baker 13.23 14. 3A Mike Astrauskas 13.25 15. 44j Bill Tyler 13.31 16. 45 Brian Lay 13.33 17. 42 Gary Fedewa 13.40 18. 61f Tom Fedorczyk 13.59 19. 92 George Gustafson 13.67 20. 69 Tracy Rice 13.84 21. 40b Daryl Smith 14.12

United Trailers heat- 1. Lay 2. Newton 3. Baker 4. Underwood 5. Baumgartner 6. Shumaker 7. Gustafson

Dowker Engines heat-2. Cox 2. Bloom 3. G.Fedewa 4. T.Fedewa 5. Blonde 6. Astrauskas 7. Rice

Wolverine Steel heat-3. Fedorczyk 2. Feeney 3. McCune 4. Hotchkiss 5. Katz 6. Tyler 7. Smith

Feature 30 laps- 1. Feeney 2. McCune 3. Baumgartner 4. Newton 5. Underwood 6. Katz 7. T.Fedewa 8. Bloom 9. Hotchkiss 10. Baker 11. Blonde 12. Lay 13. Tyler 14. G.Fedewa 15. Cox 16. Astrauskas 17. Smith 18. Fedoczyk 19. Shumaker 20. Rice 21. Gustafson