Jason Blonde Tops Toledo

By Duane Turner

Toledo, Ohio (June 18, 2004) –
Jason Blonde from Litchfield, MI took the lead on lap 15, and then pulled away from the field at a very fast Toledo Speedway. “We were not very fast earlier in the night.” Stated Blonde in victory lane. “We did get the car working better later on in the night when it did matter. My crew kept working on it, and got it close enough for us to walk away with another win.”

Current point leader Bill Tyler from Parma, MI started the 30-lap contest on the pole position alongside rookie Shane Butler. At the drop of the green, Butler got the early jump as he lead the field into turn one. Kevin Feeney quickly jumped into second, and would settle into a rhythm to try and save his tires for a late race run. Blonde would pass Tyler on lap three to take over the third position. The first caution flag of the 2004 season for the AVSS would wave on lap five as Chris Hayes got into the front stretch wall after a right rear tire went flat.

The lap five restart, Blonde was able to move past Feeney for the second position as the duo entered turn three. At the lap 10 mark, the top six cars of Butler, Blonde, Feeney, Tyler, Doug Berryman, and Mike Ling were all running nose to tail as the leader approached lapped traffic. On lap 14, Butler closed in on the back markers, but Blonde was able to move to the high-side and make the pass in turn four one lap later. The final caution of the evening was on lap 21 for Berryman who had a left rear tire go flat.

The final restart had Blonde, Butler, Feeney, Tyler, Ling, and a hard charging Ryan Katz in the top five. Blonde was able to pull away from the rest of the field at the drop of the green and looked to walk away with his second win of the season. On lap 24, Feeney was able to pull alongside Butler and challenge for the second position. Feeney would make the pass one corner later, and set sail for the leader. With only five laps remaining, Feeney would gain ground on Blonde, but would run out of laps before mounting a serious challenge for the lead. “It is nice to be running up front again.” Added Feeney, “The track can be real hard on tires. I was trying to be patient and save them for the end of the race. Once Jason (Blonde) got by us, we had the throw the patience out the window and go after him. We’ll take second tonight, we did have a good run.”

Rookie Shane Butler would come home third in his first night behind the wheel of the Tracy Rice owned sprinter. “I just want to thank Tracy (Rice) for giving me the chance. With any luck we will keep the car up front every week.” Said Shane Butler. Ryan Katz would move up to fourth, and Tyler would round out the top five. Ling, Brian Lay, Joe Rebman, Hank Lower, and Curt Shumaker would round out the top 10.

In Hamilton Trucking Qualifications, Kevin Feeney would break his own track record with a mark of 12.944, or 139.061 miles per hour. This would mark the third straight year the upright sprint cars would out qualify the ISMA Supermodifieds. Eight AVSS stars would eclipse the best time of the big block supermodifieds. Hank Lower, Chris Hayes, and Gary Fedewa would take the three heat events. Lower was awarded the win after apparent winner Joe Rebman was penalized two positions for jumping the initial start.

Up next for the Auto Value/ Bumper to Bumper super sprints is a trip west to Ft. Wayne, IN and Baer Field Speedway on Saturday June 19. For more information on the fastest short track cars in he world, visit the official AVSS web site at http://www.supersprints.com

Hamilton Trucking Time Trials: 1) 33 Kevin Feeney 12.944 New Track Record! (139.061 mph) 2) 1r Doug Berryman 13.140 3) 10 Shane Butler 13.250 4) 61 Jason Blonde 13.293 5) 8m Lee Boss 13.295 6) 24 Bill Tyler 13.347 7) 35 Ryan Katz 13.348 8) 99 Mike Ling 13.359 9) 71 Curt Shumaker 13.487 10) 20 Brian Lay 13.513 11) 40 Tim Cox 13.521 12) 70 Dennis Craft 13.544 13) 37 Hank Lower 13.554 14) 11 Chris Hayes 13.575 15) 26 Jeff Bloom 13.579 16) 77 Joe Rebman 13.659 17) 4 Troy Underwood 13.695 18) 42 Gary Fedewa 13.896 19) 19 Jimmy McCune 13.902 20) 3a Mike Astrauskas 14.117 21) 7 Tyler Underwood 14.722 22) 69 Tracy Rice 14.950 23) 45 A.J. Whisler 15.293 24) 18 Mike Katz 16.206

United Trailers Heat #1 (1:50.605): 1) 37 Hank Lower 2) 20 Brian Lay 3) 77 Joe Rebman 4) 33 Kevin Feeney 5) 35 Ryan Katz 6) 61 Jason Blonde 7) 69 Tracy Rice 8) 19 Jimmy McCune

Dowker Engines Heat #2 (1:57.435): 1) 11 Chris Hayes 2) 40 Tim Cox 3) 99 Mike Ling 4) 8m Lee Boss 5) 1r Doug Berryman 6) 3a Mike Astrauskas 7) 45 A.J. Whisler 8) 4 Troy Underwood

Hoosier Racing Tire Heat #3 (1:50.721): 1) 42 Gary Fedewa 2) 71 Curt Shumaker 3) 24 Bill Tyler 4) 26 Jeff Bloom 5) 10 Shane Butler 6) 70 Dennis Craft 7) 7 Tyler Underwood 8) 18 Mike Katz

Auto Value/ Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints A-Main, 30 Laps (No Time): 1) 61 Jason Blonde 2) 33 Kevin Feeney 3) 10 Shane Butler 4) 35 Ryan Katz 5) 24 Bill Tyler 6) 99 Mike Ling 7) 20 Brian Lay 8) 77 Joe Rebman 9) 37 Hank Lower 10) 71 Curt Shumaker 11) 40 Tim Cox 12) 19 Jimmy McCune 13) 8m Lee Boss 14) 26 Jeff Bloom 15) 1r Doug Berryman 16) 7 Tyler Underwood 17) 45 A.J. Whisler 18) 4 Troy Underwood 19) 70 Dennis Craft 20) 42 Gary Fedewa 21) 31 Mike Astrauskas 22) 11 Chris Hayes 23) 69 Tracy Rice 24) 18 Mike Katz

Lap Leaders: 10 Shane Butler 1-14, 61 Jason Blonde 15-30

Hard Charger: 77 Joe Rebman +8

Hamilton Trucking Fast Time: 33 Kevin Feeney 12.944 (139.061 mph, NTR)