England Steals AVSS Thunder at Baer Field

By Duane Turner

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (June 19, 2004) –
Denny England from Warsaw, IN came into Baer Field Speedway for his first appearance with the Auto Value/ Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints (AVSS) of the 2004 season. What he left with was his first career AVSS victory. “Jason (Blonde) had a winning streak going. I just thought maybe I should be the one to stop it.” Stated England with a grin. “There was no way I was going to catch him on the open track. The lapped cars really slowed him down as his car appeared to not handle well in traffic. I was just trying to save the tires for the second half of the race. These things (sprint cars) are getting so fast now, it is very easy to tear the tires up. My crew, Brooks and Randy, along with my sponsors, G&K Well Drilling, Pro-Strip, Ace Radiator, and Hogue Engines really make this possible.” Said England with a victory cigar in hand.

Jackson, Michigan native Troy Underwood would lead the field to the green in the 30-lap contest in his florescent orange painted sprint car. Jason Blonde in the Marv Carman owned sprinter would start along side. At the drop of the green, Underwood got the jump out of turn four, and led the field down into turn one. Blonde stayed with Underwood through the first and second corners on the highside, and kept Underwood pinched down going down the back straight. The top duo would stay side by side through turns three and four, but Blonde would have a slight advantage at the start/ finish line to lead the opening lap.

The top five cars of Blonde, Underwood, Bill Tyler, Curt Shumaker and Denny England would all stay within striking distance during the opening stages of the event. On lap Seven, England would move alongside, and make the pass on Shumaker to overtake the fourth position. On lap 10, the leaders encountered lapped traffic, and England began to show he could run anywhere on the race track and be fast. On lap 12, England made the pass for third on Tyler in lapped traffic. Just was the case five laps later when Underwood was slowed by a lapped car, England moved to the highside and overtook Underwood in turn four.

England then took off after race leader Blonde. Once again, lapped traffic played a key role for position as England quickly closed in on the race leader and challenged for the lead. As Blonde continued to set the pace, a duo of lapped cars were racing side by side right in front of the leaders. On lap 15, England made a move to the low side of turn four, but dropped the left front tire off the racing surface, bottoming out the left side of his car costing him some track position. As Blonde continued to struggle with the two back markers, England once again dove to the inside of turn four on lap 16, and lead by a nose at the stripe.

As the lead duo continued to move through traffic, Blonde was able to keep pace with England and retake the lead by a foot one lap later. England, however, would not be denied as he made the final pass for the lead down the back straight using a lapped car as a pick to get some distance between him and Blonde.

A lap 23 caution appeared as Brian Lay spun coming out of turn two. On the restart, a torrid battle for the third position between Underwood, Tyler, and Jimmy McCune was underway when McCune moved into turn three on the low side to make it three wide for the second position. Underwood was caught in the middle, and McCune made contact with Underwood, sending him spinning. Some left front damage would end McCune’s evening. The final restart, England quickly built up a lead and never looked back. Blonde would keep pace, but the battle was one for the third position once again. Underwood, and Tyler continued to race side by side until Underwood was able to retake the spot on lap 28 for good. At the lap 30 checkers, England would win by eight car lengths over Blonde, Underwood, Tyler and Shumaker. Shane Butler, Lee Boss, Ryan Katz, Gary Fedewa, and Brian Lay rounded out the top 10.

Mike Ling, Denny England, and Jeff Bloom would grab the heat races, while Danny Williams, Jr. claimed the B-main. 16 year old Lee Boss set the qualifications mark at 14.922, or 120.627 miles per hour. Up next for the AVSS is a trip to the “Trick Track” of Tri City Motor Speedway in Auburn, MI on Thursday June 24. For more information on the fastest short track cars in the world, log on to the official AVSS web site at http://www.supersprints.com

Hamilton Trucking Time Trials: 1) 8m Lee Boss 14.922 2) 84 Denny England 15.020 3) 24 Bill Tyler 15.040 4) 71 Curt Shumaker 15.054 5) 61 Jason Blonde 15.067 6) 4 Troy Underwood 15.076 7) 19 Jimmy McCune 15.122 8) 10 Shane Butler 15.146 9) 81 Danny Williams Jr. 15.159 10) 20 Brian Lay 15.173 11) 35 Ryan Katz 15.239 12) 37 Hank Lower 15.268 13) 33 Kevin Feeney 15.287 14) 42 Gary Fedewa 15.507 15) 3a Mike Astrauskas 15.681 16) 99 Mike Ling 15.733 17) 7 Tyler Underwood 15.825 18) 26 Jeff Bloom 15.867 19) 82 Nick Landon 15.890 20) 8 Ryan Davis 15.976 21) 69 Tracy Rice 16.016 22) 27 Chris Jagger 16.189 23) 35k Craig Fordyce 16.692 24) 77B Steve Burch 17.145 25) 18 Mike Katz 17.845 26) 17 Roger Anderson n/t

United Trailers Heat #1, top 5 to A-main (2:05.002): 1) 99 Mike Ling 2) 33 Kevin Feeney 3) 19 Jimmy McCune 4) 20 Brian Lay 5) 71 Curt Shumaker 6) 8m Lee Boss 7) 27 Chris Jagger 8) 82 Nick Landon 9) 18 Mike Katz

Dowker Engines Heat #2 (2:06.670): 1) 84 Denny England 2) 42 Gary Fedewa 3) 10 Shane Butler 4) 35 Ryan Katz 5) 61 Jason Blonde 6) 7 Tyler Underwood 7) 35k Craig Fordyce 8) 8 Ryan Davis 9) Roger Anderson dns

Hoosier Racing Tire Heat #3 (2:08.500): 1) 26 Jeff Bloom 2) 37 Hank Lower 3) 24 Bill Tyler 4) 4 Troy Underwood 5) 3a Mike Astrauskas 6) 81 Danny Williams Jr. 7) 69 Tracy Rice 8) 77B Steve Burch

Lane Automotive B-main, 12 laps, top 5 to A-main (No Time): 1) 81 Danny Williams Jr. 2) 82 Lee Boss 3) 82 Nick Landon 4) 69 Tracy Rice 5) 8 Ryan Davis 6) 27 Chris Jagger 7) 35k Craig Fordyce 8) 18 Mike Katz 9) 77B Steve Burch 10) 7 Tyler Underwood 11) 17 Roger Anderson dns

Auto Value/ Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints A-Main, 30 Laps (No Time) 1) 84 Denny England 2) 61 Jason Blonde 3) 4 Troy Underwood 4) 24 Bill Tyler 5) 71 Curt Shumaker 6) 10 Shane Butler 7) 8m Lee Boss 8) 35 Ryan Katz 9) 42 Gary Fedewa 10) 20 Brian Lay 11) 37 Hank Lower 12) 26 Jeff Bloom 13) 99 Mike Ling 14) 33 Kevin Feeney 15) 81 Danny Williams Jr. 16) 3a Mike Astrauskas 17) 27 Chris Jagger 18) 19 Jimmy McCune 19) 8 Ryan Davis 20) 82 Nick Landon 21) Tracy Rice

Lap Leaders: Jason Blonde 1-15, 17 Denny England 16, 18-30

Hard Charger: Gary Fedewa +5

Hamilton Trucking Fast Time: Lee Boss 14.922 (120.627 mph)