Jason Blonde Nabs Win Number Three

By Duane Turner

MARNE, Mich. (June 26, 2004) –
Jason Blonde from Litchfield, MI has struck again. This time, at the famed Berlin Raceway by overtaking leader Ryan Katz on lap 26 when Katz slowed to a stop on the back straight. “That was just bad luck for Ryan (Katz).” Stated Blonde, “We were not going to catch him without a caution, even then, I do not think we had enough for him to get by. We do not seem to be able to get two wins in a row, but if that means winning every other race all season, we will take it.” Blonde was aboard the Marv Carman owned sprinter with a Dowker Chassis, and a Brayton engine under the hood.

The front row of the 20 car field for the 30 lap A-main was all Katz Racing as Brian Lay in the Katz Racing #20, and Ryan Katz in the #35 would bring the field down to the green flag. Lay got the early jump, and quickly set a torrid pace that averaged 112 miles per hour on the 7/16 mile oval in the early stages of the race. Katz would keep pace, with Troy Underwood, Lee Boss, Bill Tyler, and Blonde closely behind. On lap four, the fluorescent orange machine of Underwood began to slow, as the engine started losing power ending his evening.

Lap 6, the leader entered lapped traffic, and the race was on for the top position. One lap later, Katz closed in on the back bumper of Lay. The duo approached a lapped car entering into turn one, as Lay swept to the high side, and Katz dove to the bottom splitting the lapped car. Katz would get the car to hold the bottom, and exited turn two with the lead. At the same time, Blonde was moving his way forward in traffic as well. Blonde took Lee Boss on lap nine to take the third position, and began to close in on Lay for second.

Ryan Katz was moving. His strength showed in lapped traffic as he was able to pass at will using the high and low side, extending his lead over the second place car of Lay. By lap 20, Katz had built up a 15 car length lead, and continued to increase the margin with each lap. Two laps later, Blonde would close in on the rear bumper of Lay, and put pressure on the 2003 AVSS Rookie of the Year for the runner up spot. The break for Blonde came on lap 24 when Lay approached lapped cars that were racing two wide forcing Lay to slow entering turn one. Blonde dove to the inside only to have a lapped car drop to the bottom in front of him, nearly making contact with the new second place car. Lay would storm back to second on the highside, but a second lapped car would slow his momentum as Blonde was able to sneak back by on the bottom entering turn three and grab second place for good.

Blonde appeared to be closing on race leader Katz, but the lead was now 20 car lengths with only five laps remaining. As the leader was moving through lapped traffic, Blonde quickly closed the gap, and appeared to have a chance at catching Katz. On lap 26, Blonde caught, and passed Katz in turn one, but Katz Well Drilling machine of Ryan Katz quickly slowed and came to a stop at the entrance of turn three. “Something broke in the rear-end we think.” Stated team owner Mike Katz. “We will just have to go back to the shop, and see what happened and make sure it does not happen again.”

The final restart had a two lapped car cushion for Blonde, then the second place car of Lay, with Boss, Tyler, and a late charging Gary Fedewa in the fifth position. At the drop of the final green, Blonde used the lapped cars his advantage as he left the rest of the field to fight for second. At the drop of the checkers, Blonde took his third win of the season with a victory margin of 1.72 seconds over Lay, Boss, Tyler and Fedewa. Curt Shumaker, Kevin Feeney, Dorman Snyder, Tim Cox and Chris Hayes rounded out the top ten. Lee Boss had the fastest time of the A-main with a lap on 13.795 on lap five.

Blonde also set the speed mark of the night during Hamilton Trucking Qualifications. Blonde turned a lap of 13.157, or 119.845 miles per hour. Chris Hayes took the United Trailer heat, Ryan Katz grabbed the Dowker Engines Heat Race, and Tom Cox won the Hoosier Racing Tire Heat. Troy Underwood set himself into the 30 lap A-main by winning the B-main event. Up next for the AVSS is a trip to Dixie Motor Speedway on Friday, July 2nd. Then the fastest short track cars in the world make a trip to Calhoun County

Speedway in Springport, MI on Saturday, July 3. For more information the 800 plus horsepower, alcohol burning sprint car, visit the official AVSS website at http://www.supersprints.com.

Race Summery:
Hamilton Trucking Qualifications: 1) 61 Jason Blonde 13.157 (119.845 mph) 2) 24 Bill Tyler 13.170 3) 8m Lee Boss 13.241 4) 4 Troy Underwood 13.325 5) 35 Ryan Katz 13.412 6) 20 Brian Lay 13.426 7) 33 Kevin Feeney 13.469 8) 99 Dorman Snyder 13.479 9) Gary Fedewa 13.516 10) 71 Curt Shumaker 13.553 11) 70 Dennis Craft 13.624 12) 40 Tim Cox 13.666 13) Chris Hayes 13.766 14) 37 Hank Lower 13.995 15) 82 Nick Landon 14.094 16) 8 Ryan Davis 14.254 17) 10 Shane Butler 14.277 18) Z George Gustafson 14.300 19) 69 Davey Brown 14.445 20) 26 Jeff Bloom 14.460 21) 7 Tyler Underwood 14.768 22) 18 Mike Katz 15.360 23) 3a Mike Astrauskas 24) 62 Eric Curry n/t

United Trailers Heat #1 (1:56.981): 1) 11 Chris Hayes 2) 61 Jason Blonde 3) 33 Kevin Feeney 4) 8 Ryan Davis 5) 71 Curt Shumaker 6) 4 Troy Underwood 7) 69 Davey Brown 8) 18 Mike Katz

Dowker Engines Heat #2 (No Time): 1) 35 Ryan Katz 2) 37 Hank Lower 3) 99 Dorman Snyder 4) 24 Bill Tyler 5) 70 Dennis Craft 6) 10 Shane Butler 7) 26 Jeff Bloom 8) 3a Mike Astrauskas

Hoosier Racing Tire Heat #3 (1:58.049): 1) 40 Tom Cox 2) 20 Brian Lay 3) 42 Gary Fedewa 4) 8m Lee Boss 5) Z George Gustafson 6) 7 Tyler Underwood 7) 82 Nick Landon 8) Eric Curry dns

AVSS B-main (No Time): 1) 4 Troy Underwood 2) 10 Shane Butler 3) 26 Jeff Bloom 4) 7 Tyler Underwood 5) 69 Davey Brown 6) 18 Mike Katz 7) 82 Nick Landon 8) 3a Mike Astrauskas

Auto Value/ Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints A-Main, 30 Laps (No Time): 1) 61 Jason Blonde 2) 20 Brian Lay 3) 8m Lee Boss 4) 24 Bill Tyler 5) 42 Gary Fedewa 6) 71 Curt Shumaker 7) 33 Kevin Feeney 8) 99 Dorman Snyder 9) 40 Tom Cox 10) 11 Chris Hayes 11) 70 Dennis Craft 12) 26 Jeff Bloom 13) 10 Shane Butler 14) 37 Hank Lower 15) 7 Tyler Underwood 16) 8 Ryan Davis 17) 35 Ryan Katz 18) 69 Davey Brown 19) 4 Troy Underwood 20) Z George Gustafson

Lap Leaders: Brian Lay 1-7, Ryan Katz 8-25, Jason Blonde 26-30

Hamilton Trucking Fast Time Award: 61 Jason Blonde 13.157 (119.845 mph)

Hard Charger: Jeff Bloom +7