Salem Speedway Victory Goes to Kevin Feeney

By Duane Turner

SALEM, Ind. (July 10, 2004) –
Rain was everywhere Saturday, and a few showers passed over Salem Speedway during the day. With sprinkles falling on and off all night, Kevin Feeney from Oxford, MI grabbed his first win of the 2004 AVSS season with a last lap pass over Jason Blonde at the high banks of Salem Speedway. “Racing Jason (Blonde) is excellent.” Stated Feeney in victory lane. “We run wheel to wheel a lot, and it is a shame to see it happen like this. I know the feeling, but it breaks my heart for Jason. I am glad to win, and we will take this one. I need to thank my sponsors, U-Coat-It, and Cargo-Mate, along with the crew Mike Feeney, Mike Rapp, and Jeff Logan.”

Hud Cone and Gary Fedewa would make up the front row for the 30-lap contest. At the drop of the green, Fedewa jumped out to an early lead and set a torrid pace that had the rest of the field falling back before the first lap was completed. Hank Lower was able to get past Cone coming out of turn two, as the outside is the fast way around Salem Speedway. The race was slowed at lap five, when Mike Ling got into the back of Curt Shumaker sending both cars spinning. AVSS points leader Bill Tyler also spun to avoid any contact with Ling and Shumaker. Brian Lay used pit road to avoid contact and Jeff Bloom and Tim Cox also narrowly avoided the carnage.

On the restart, the veterans of Fedewa and Lower once again took off, leaving the rest to battle for third. Jason Blonde quickly moved into fourth and began a battle with Cone for the third position. Two laps later, Kevin Feeney, who started ninth, also began to battle for third. By lap nine, Lower began to lose positions as Cone made the pass, and one lap later Blonde moved past as well. As the field completed lap 10, Jeff Bloom had a right front tire go flat as he entered turn one at over 145 miles per hour. Bloom made hard contact with the turn two retaining, wall ending his evening.

After the lap 10 restart, Fedewa once again would set the pace. Cone would keep within striking distance, but Blonde put the pressure on Cone, allowing Fedewa to pull away. Feeney quickly disposed of Lower, then two laps later, Tim Cox and Brian Lay would also slide by. At the half way point, Fedewa lead by 15 car lengths over Cone, with Blonde, Feeney, and Cox in the top five.

On lap 19, Fedewa entered slower traffic, which slowed his pace. Cone closed the gap as Fedewa nearly spun trying to avoid a slower car that nearly got into the turn four wall. As Fedewa cleared the lapped cars, he once again increased his lead over Cone. As Cone was working the slower traffic, Blonde took advantage and made the pass for the runner up position on lap 20. Feeney would also use the lapped traffic to take third away from Cone one lap later. On lap 22, as Fedewa looked to set sail for his first win of the year, smoke showed as his engine would let go just eight laps shy. “We just can’t get a break.” Stated a dejected Fedewa after the event. “We had a good race car, and I mean a good race car tonight. The motor just came apart.”

The final restart of the evening had Blonde followed by Feeney, Cone, Cox and Lay. Blonde and Feeney would pull away from Cone, leaving Cox and Lay to battle with Cone for the third position. On lap 26, Cox would bow out of the event when a left rear tire went flat entering turn three. With two laps to go, Blonde, like Fedewa, looked to be set to take the victory. As Blonde came out of turn four to take the white flag, he pulled low on the race track, and Feeney pulled past as the duo entered turn one. Feeney would come around to take his first win of 2004, followed by Blonde. “The rear end let go with two laps left.” Stated Blonde, “With what happened, we are very happy to take second, and the points lead.”

Cone would come home third and took his best AVSS finish. Lay was fourth, followed by Mike Ling. Troy Underwood, Bill Tyler, Davey Brown, Hank Lower and Shane Butler would round out the top 10. Mike Ling would set a new all time Salem Speedway mark with a time of 14.388, or 138.866 miles per hour. Ling also won the United Trailers heat race, Tom Cox grabbed the Dowker Engines Heat, and Troy Underwood took the Hoosier Racing Tire heat race. Troy Underwood was the hard charger passing nine cars in route to his sixth place run. Up next for the fastest short track cars in the world, a visit to Auto City Speedway in Clio, MI on Saturday July 17. Gates open at 2:30, qualifications at 5:00, and racing at 7:00. For more information on the Auto Value/ Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints, log on to the official web site at

Hamilton Trucking Time Trials: 1) 99 Mike Ling 14.388 NTR (138.866 mph) 2) 33 Kevin Feeney 14.495 3) 71 Curt Shumaker 14.597 4) 26 Jeff Bloom 14.677 5) 61 Jason Blonde 14.705 6) 10 Shane Butler 14.762 7) 37 Hank lower 14.762 8) 99x Hud Cone 14.793 9) 42 Gary Fedewa 14.890 10) 35 Ryan Katz 14.900 11) 40 Tim Cox 14.922 12) 20 Brian Lay 15.085 13) 69 Davey Brown 15.130 14) 24 Bill Tyler 15.187 15) 4 Troy Underwood 15.286 16) Z George Gustafson 15.580 17) 7 Tyler Underwood 15.772 18) 8 Ryan Davis 15.817 19) 11 E.J. Calloway 17.187 20) 18 Mike Katz 18.836

United Trailers Heat #1 (2:02.028): 1) 99 Mike Ling 2) 37 Hank Lower 3) 69 Davey Brown 4) 35 Ryan Katz 5) 26 Jeff Bloom 6) Z George Gustafson 7) 18 Mike Katz

Dowker Engines Heat #2 (2:02.727): 1) 40 Tim Cox 2) 24 Bill Tyler 3) 33 Kevin Feeney 4) 61 Jason Blonde 5) 99x Hud Cone 6) 7 Tyler Underwood 7) 11 E.J. Calloway

Hoosier Racing Tire Heat #3 (2:04.330): 1) 4 Troy Underwood 2) 20 Brian Lay 3) 71 Curt Shumaker 4) 42 Gary Fedewa 5) 8 Ryan Davis 6) 10 Shane Butler

Auto Value/ Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints A-Main, 30 Laps (No Time) 1) 33 Kevin Feeney 2) 61 Jason Blonde 3) 99x Hud Cone 4) 20 Brian Lay 5) 99 Mike Ling 6) 4 Troy Underwood 7) 24 Bill Tyler 8) 69 Davey Brown 9) 37 Hank Lower 10) 10 Shane Butler 11) 8 Ryan Davis 12) 40 Tim Cox 13) 42 Gary Fedewa 14) 7 Tyler Underwood 15) 26 Jeff Bloom 16) 71 Curt Shumaker 17) 11 E.J. Calloway 18) 35 Ryan Katz 19) Z George Gustafson 20) 18 Mike Katz

Lap Leaders: Gary Fedewa 1-22, Jason Blonde 23-29, Kevin Feeney 30

Hamilton Trucking Fast Time: Mike Ling 14.388 NTR (138.866 mph)

Hard Charger: Troy Underwood +9