Bill Tyler Scores Big at Baer Field

By Duane Turner

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (July 24, 2004) –
Bill Tyler from Parma, MI grabbed the lead from Curt Shumaker on lap 28, and held on the last two laps to claim his second win of the 2004 season. “Running second, you always let the leader commit, and you go the other way.” Stated Tyler in victory lane. “Curt just went the wrong way, and the six car slid up and opened up the bottom for us. Big win for us tonight. Jason (Blonde) had a bad night, and you never wish that on anyone, but we do have the points lead back. This is one for the old guys, Pork, Dave, Bob and Keith. These guys are with me every week, and their families are behind us. I also need to thank Wellhoff Concrete Construction and United Trailers.”

AVSS veteran Hank Lower and Curt Shumaker would lead the field down to the green flag with Shumaker grabbing the early lead using the high side of the track. Lower kept pace, as did Jimmy McCune, Bill Tyler, and Jeff Bloom. The early mover appeared to be Denny England as he quickly went to the topside, and moved into eighth from his 10th starting position. During the opening stages, the leaders appeared to be saving their tires for the later stages of the race. The first move came on lap five when Dorman Snyder in the Wayne Stickney owned sprinter made the move past Bloom for the fifth position. One lap later, Troy Underwood also moved past Bloom for sixth.

The first caution appeared on lap nine for Tyler Underwood who spun in turn two. The restart had Shumaker up front, followed by Lower, McCune, Tyler, and Snyder. On lap 10, Tyler was able to get under McCune for the third position; this also allowed Snyder to slip under McCune to claim fourth. At the halfway point, the battle for the seventh between Bloom and England finally came to an end with England taking the spot.

With the crossed flags in the air, the cars that were working good started to show their strength. Tyler closed in on the rear bumper of Lower and made the pass two laps later for the second position. With a battle for fifth between McCune and Troy Underwood, Hamilton Trucking fast time award winner Denny England took advantage of the battle, and passed both cars on lap 18 to take over fifth. As the laps began to wind down, the distance between Shumaker and Tyler was also decreasing. On lap 27, Snyder moved past Lower to take over third, just as the lead duo closed in on heavy lapped traffic. One half lap later, Shumaker moved to the highside of a lapped car, only to have the lapped car slip off the bottom, slowing Shumaker, and opening the bottom of the track up for Tyler. Tyler made the pass in turn four and officially lead lap 28. With the battle for the lead, and the crowd on their feet, England moved past Lower to take over fourth and set sail after the leaders.

After the leaders crossed the line to start the 29th circuit, a caution was waved as Kevin Feeney spun in turn two. The restart had Tyler setting the pace with Shumaker, Snyder, England and Lower in tow. As the green flag waved, and caution quickly appeared again and Jason Blonde running in the 12th position spun in turn two collecting Joe Rebman. Both cars would be done for the evening. On the final restart, Shumaker followed Tyler into turn one and looked to reclaim the lead. As Shumaker tried the outside, he had to check up as Tyler went through the middle. This left the door open for Snyder to slip past Shumaker and take over second. At the line, Tyler grabbed the win by three car lengths over Snyder, Shumaker, England, and Lower in the top five. Troy Underwood, McCune, Bloom, Gary Fedewa, and Brian Lay rounded out the top 10.

“We started the night out with a very loose race car.” Added second place runner Dorman Snyder. “They tightened up the car a lot after the B-main, and just kept working on it. The car was getting better the longer we raced. Just one of those nights when I wish we had about two more laps.” Curt Shumaker has had victory slip past twice in the last three races. “We did not need those cautions.” Stated Shumaker. “I just wish I did not see the flagman try to move the lapped cars to the bottom of the track. I thought they would go low, and I just committed high, and Bill (Tyler) got by us.”

30 Auto Value/ Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints were in the pit area, with cars and drivers from four different states, and three countries including Quintin Saayman from Bredell, South Africa. Saayman would have his evening end early however, as something on the right front broke during Hamilton Trucking Time Trials sending the Dennis Craft owned machine into the turn four wall. Denny England of Warsaw, IN set the speed mark with a new track record of 14.558, or 123.643 miles per hour. England also took the United Trailers heat race with a crowd-pleasing last lap, last corner pass for the win. Brian Lay grabbed the Dowker Engines heat, with Curt Shumaker winning the Hoosier Racing Tire heat race. The Lane Automotive B-main started 13 cars, with Doug Berryman driving the Mike Blake entry taking the win.

Up Next for the Fastest Short Track Cars in the World, is a weekend off, before they invade Owosso Speedway on Saturday August 7th. For more information, log on to the official AVSS website at

Hamilton Trucking Time Trials: 1) 84 Denny England 14.558, 123.643 mph NTR 2) 7 Joe Rebman 14.718 3) 4 Troy Underwood 14.759 4) 8m Lee Boss 14.790 5) 99 Dorman Snyder 14.901 6) 24 Bill Tyler 14.926 7) 26 Jeff Bloom 14.989 8) 19 Jimmy McCune 15.032 9) 71 Curt Shumaker 15.125 10) 37 Hank Lower 15.205 11) 61 Jason Blonde 15.231 12) 42 Gary Fedewa 15.272 13) 33 Kevin Feeney 15.293 14) 20 Brian Lay 15.297 15) 34 John Scherer 15.338 16) 81 Doug Berryman 15.379 17) 9 Mike Tarlton 15.399 18) 10 Shane Butler 15.406 19) 7 Tyler Underwood 15.458 20) 3a Mike Astrauskas 15.522 21) 35 Ryan Katz 15.553 22) 8 Ryan Davis 15.602 23) 6 Sondi Eden 15.617 24) 14 Dave Baumgartner 15.618 25) Z George Gustafson 15.982 26) 69 Davey Brown 16.139 27) 11 E.J. Calloway 16.327 28) 66 Doug Stepke 16.506 29) 70 Quintin Saayman NT 30) 1r Mike Blake NT

United Trailers Heat #1 (2:06.976): 1) 84 Denny England 2) 33 Kevin Feeney 3) 37 Hank Lower 4) 8m Lee Boss 5) 26 Jeff Bloom 6) 7 Tyler Underwood 7) 81 Doug Berryman 8) Z George Gustafson 9) 8 Ryan Davis 10) 66 Doug Stepke

Dowker Engines Heat #2 (2:03.152): 1) 20 Brian Lay 2) 19 Jimmy McCune 3) 61 Jason Blonde 4) 77 Joe Rebman 5) 6 Sondi Eden 6) 9 Mike Tarlton 7) 99 Dorman Snyder 8) 3a Mike Astrauskas 9) 69 Davey Brown 10) 70 Quintin Saayman (dns)

Hoosier Racing Tire Heat #3 (2:07.082): 1) 71 Curt Shumaker 2) 24 Bill Tyler 3) 42 Gary Fedewa 4) 4 Troy Underwood 5) 10 Shane Butler 6) 11 E.J. Calloway 7) 34 James Scherer 8) 35 Ryan Katz 9) 14 Dave Baumgartner 10) 1r Mike Blake (dns)

Lane Automotive B-main (3:10.665): 1) 81 Doug Berryman 2) 99 Dorman Snyder 3) 77 Tyler Underwood 4) 9 Mike Tarlton 5) 35 Ryan Katz 6) 3a Mike Astrauskas 7) 69 Davey Brown 8) 8 Ryan Davis 9) 34 James Scherer 10) 11 E.J. Calloway 11) Z George Gustafson 12) 14 Dave Baumgartner 13) 66 Doug Stepke 14) 70 Quintin Saayman dns 15) 1r Mike Blake dns

Auto Value/ Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints A-Main, 30 Laps (No Time): 1) 24 Bill Tyler 2) 99 Dorman Snyder 3) 71 Curt Shumaker 4) 84 Denny England 5) 37 Hank Lower 6) 4 Troy Underwood 7) 19 Jimmy McCune 8) 26 Jeff Bloom 9) 42 Gary Fedewa 10) 20 Brian Lay 11) 8m Lee Boss 12) 10 Shane Butler 13) 69 Davey Brown 14) 33 Kevin Feeney 15) 9 Mike Tarlton 16) 6 Sondi Eden 17) 61 Jason Blonde 18) 77 Joe Rebman 19) 7 Tyler Underwood 20) 35 Ryan Katz 21) 81 Doug Berryman

Lap Leaders: Curt Shumaker 1-27, Bill Tyler 28-30

Hamilton Trucking Fast Time: Denny England 14.558, 123.643 mph NTR

Hard Charger: Davey Brown +8

Provisional Starter: Davey Brown