Troy Underwood Wins at Dixie

By Duane Turner

BIRCH RUN, Mich. (September 10, 2004) –
Troy Underwood from Jackson, MI lead every lap of the Auto Value/ Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints 30 lap A-main at Dixie Motor Speedway to claim his second victory of the season. “First I want to thank all of the fans for coming out here tonight. We could not do this without you!” Stated Underwood in Victory lane. “We had bronchitis all week, but I feel pretty good right now. I like coming here (Dixie), and the car was working pretty good. I would like to thank Mike Shellenberger, Butch Dowker for a great engine, my dad for all the hard work he does, the rest of my family, Auto Value of course, Hamilton Trucking, BMC and Capitol Cash Register.”

Jeff Bloom and Troy Underwood would bring the field down to start the A-main. Underwood got the early jump, and led Bloom down into turn one. Jason Blonde quickly dropped into third, followed by Kevin Feeney and Bill Tyler. As the field was coming down to complete the second lap, 10th place running Mike Astrauskas made contact with another car, which sent him spinning into the turn three wall. Astrauskas would be forced to retire for the rest of the evening.

The lap one restart would have Underwood once again pull away from the rest of the field. On the third circuit, Curt Shumaker made the pass on Tyler to claim the fifth position. Three laps later, Shumaker used the low side of turn four to pass Feeney for fourth, then Tyler would also take advantage by slipping past Feeney to re-claim fifth. On lap seven, Cameron Dodson began to make his presence felt by moving into sixth. The top six cars would then pace themselves until the leader reached lapped traffic on lap 11.

Lap 12 had the leader, Underwood, splitting lapped cars to maintain his advantage over Bloom. On lap 15, Dodson made a highside move in turn two to over take Tyler for the fifth position. The running order at the ½ way mark was Underwood, Bloom, Blonde, Shumaker, and Dodson in the top five, working their way through lapped traffic. Bloom began to pick up the pace on lap 16, closing in on the back bumper of Underwood. Lap 18, Bloom moved to the highside of turn one, but Underwood stayed on the bottom of the track and maintained his advantage. A few moments later, George Gustafson would spin in turn two to bring out the yellow flag. Under caution, Brian Lay would be forced pit side with engine troubles.

The lap 18 restart has Underwood still at the point, followed by Bloom, Blonde, Shumaker and Dodson. Dodson quickly made a bid for the fourth position using the highside of one and two, and completed the pass in turn three to take over fourth. Underwood used the open track to increase his lead over Bloom, and began turning some of the quickest laps of the evening in the 13-second range. Lap 20, Dodson closed in on Blonde, and the duo would battle for a few laps before Dodson claimed the position for good on lap 23. With just five laps to go, Underwood increased his lead to 2.5 seconds over Bloom. Ryan Katz moved past Shane Butler to take over the seventh position one lap later.

Lap 28, Underwood again closed in on the rear of the field. This time, Underwood moved through the lapped cars with ease using the high side of the track, and went on to claim his second AVSS victory of the season. Bloom followed in second, with Dodson, Blonde and Shumaker in the top five. Tyler, Katz, Butler, Sondi Eden, and Feeney rounded out the top 10. In the season championship battle, Tyler brought an 8 point margin into Dixie, but left with a mere one point lead when the night was over. For more information on the fastest short track cars in the world, log on to the official AVSS web site at

Hamilton Trucking Time Trials: 1) 8m Cameron Dodson 12.539 114.842 mph New Track Record 2) 24 Bill Tyler 12.705 3) 61 Jason Blonde 12.711 4) 33 Kevin Feeney 12.821 5) 4 Troy Underwood 12.904 6) 26 Jeff Bloom 12.943 7) 71 Curt Shumaker 12.971 8) 14 Dave Baumgartner 12.978 9) 6 Sondi Eden 13.030 10) 10 Shane Butler 13.112 11) 81 Jimmy McCune 13.165 12) 35 Ryan Katz 13.200 13) 3a Mike Astrauskas 13.221 14) 20 Brian Lay 13.249 15) 42 Gary Fedewa 13.263 16) 99 Mike Ling 13.276 17) 37 Hank Lower 13.279 18) 33b Steve Irwin 13.394 19) 69 Davey Brown 13.405 20) Z George Gustafson 13.424 21) 34 Johnny Scherer 13.486 22) 61f Tom Fedorczyk 13.503 23) 7 Tyler Underwood 13.508 24) 8 Ryan Davis 13.616 25) 11 E.J. Calloway 13.880

United Trailers Heat #1 (1:47.592): 1) 99 Mike Ling 2) 71 Curt Shumaker 3) 10 Shane Butler 4) 33 Kevin Feeney 5) 8m Cameron Dodson 6) 3a Mike Astrauskas 7) 69 Davey Brown 8) 61f Tom Fedorczyk 9) 11 E.J. Calloway

Dowker Engines Heat #2 (1:45.971): 1) 37 Hank Lower 2) 20 Brian Lay 3) 14 Dave Baumgartner 4) 4 Troy Underwood 5) 81 Jimmy McCune 6) 24 Bill Tyler 7) 7 Tyler Underwood 8) Z George Gustafson

Hoosier Racing Tire Heat #3 (No Time): 1) 61 Jason Blonde 2) 42 Gary Fedewa 3) 6 Sondi Eden 4) 35 Ryan Katz 5) 26 Jeff Bloom 6) 34 Johnny Scherer 7) 8 Ryan Davis 8) 33b Steve Irwin

Lane Automotive B-main (2:47.091): 1) 24 Bill Tyler 2) 3a Mike Astrauskas 3) 69 Davey Brown 4) 33b Steve Irwin 5) Z George Gustafson 6) 61f Tom Fedorczyk 7) 34 Johnny Scherer 8) 7 Tyler Underwood 9) 8 Ryan Davis 10) 11 E.J. Calloway

Auto Value/ Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints A-Main, 30 Laps (No Time) 1) 4 Troy Underwood 2) 26 Jeff Bloom 3) 8m Cameron Dodson 4) 61 Jason Blonde 5) 71 Curt Shumaker 6) 24 Bill Tyler 7) 35 Ryan Katz 8) 10 Shane Butler 9) 6 Sondi Eden 10) 33 Kevin Feeney 11) 14 Dave Baumgartner 12) 99 Mike Ling 13) 37 Hank Lower 14) 81 Jimmy McCune 15) 42 Gary Fedewa 16) 7 Tyler Underwood 17) 69 Davey Brown 18) 20 Brian Lay 19) Z George Gustafson 20) 33b Steve Irwin 21) 3a Mike Astrauskas

Lap Leaders: Troy Underwood 1-30

Hard Charger: Ryan Katz +5

Hamilton Trucking Fast Time: Cameron Dodson 12.539 (114.842 mph) NTR!

Provisional Starter: Tyler Underwood