Underwood Claims Redemption at Flamboro

By Duane Turner

FREELTON, Ontario, Canada (August 28, 2005) –
17 year old Tyler Underwood from Jackson, Michigan led flag to flag to claim his first AVSS feature win. “This is so cool,” stated a very jubilant Underwood in the Flamboro Speedway victory lane. “I told myself I did not want to mess that opportunity up again. I had the prime starting position Friday night at Kawartha and I messed it up. I told myself to learn from the mistake and go make it work next time. Getting through lapped traffic here is pretty tough. So, I had to use my front bumper a few times to get through. I need to thank Business Machine Company, Capital Cash Register, Tom’s Stump Removal, Thunder Chassis, and Auto Value. Then my crew, Joe, my sister Jessica, my mom and dad, and special thanks to Mike Shellenberger, Butch Dowker and my grandpa, who couldn’t make it this weekend, for all their help.”

Tyler Underwood and Curt Shumaker made up the front row of the 21 car field. When the green flag waved, Underwood quickly jumped out to the lead heading into turn one. Shumaker fell in behind for second followed by Dorman Snyder, Tommy Fedewa and Cameron Dodson as they completed the opening lap. The narrow 1/3 mile track made for little passing during the opening stages of the 30 lap event. Harry Parish was able to pass John Hotchkiss on the third lap to take over eighth. One lap later, young Canadian Ryan Litt came to a stop in turn two.

The restart had Underwood taking the green with Shumaker, Snyder, Fedewa, and Dodson still in the top five. On lap seven Johnny Scherer spun out in turn four and bumped the outside retaining wall bringing out the second caution. Mayhem would ensue on the next restart as George Gustafson made contact with Bill Jacoby causing front end damage to the number 70 of Gustafson. As the caution waved, Hotchkiss and Troy Underwood would spin in turn three as the field slowed for the caution. Hotchkiss received damage to his car that would send him pit side, ending his evening.

The next restart would fair much better, as Underwood once again began to pull away from the rest of the field. The top five remained the same until lap twelve, when Underwood closed in on the back of the field. Underwood quickly put Cody Tyler a lap down and continued his torrid pace at the front of the pack. During the middle stages of the thirty lap event, the leaders continued to run nose to tail. Dodson looked to the outside of Fedewa only to have Mike Ling dive under the current AVSS points leader. Fedewa closed the door on Dodson to hold on to the fourth position. This left Dodson to battle with Ling for fifth with Dodson holding on to the position.

Underwood continued to increase his advantage over the next several laps. On lap 22 Underwood again closed in on lapped traffic. One lap later Underwood cleared the first lapped car leaving Shumaker to battle with the back marker. The caution flag appeared for the final time on lap 25 when Tim Ryan and Litt made contact in turn four, sending the 07 of Litt for a spin.

The final restart had Underwood out front with one lapped car as a cushion in front of second place Shumaker. Underwood pulled away over the course of the final five laps and took his first career sprint car checkers. Shumaker would hold on for second with Snyder, Fedewa, and Dodson in the top five. Ling, Jeff Bloom, Parish, Bill Tyler, and Jason Blonde rounded out the top ten. Jeff Bloom set a new all time one lap record at Flamboro Speedway with a lap of 13.753 during Hamilton Trucking Time Trials. Harry Parish, Bill Jacoby and George Gustafson took the heat race wins.

Up next for the fastest short track cars in the world is a trip to the Marne, MI oval of Berlin Raceway on Saturday September 3. Pit gates open at 11:00 am. Practice begins at 1:00 pm with racing getting underway at 7:00 pm. For more information on the Auto Value/ Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints, log on to the official AVSS website at www.supersprints.com.


Event Summary:

Hamilton Trucking Time Trials: 1) 26 Jeff Bloom 13.753 2) 50m Cameron Dodson 13.753 3) 42 Tommy Fedewa 13.813 4) 99 Dorman Snyder 13.903 5) 71 Curt Shumaker 13.932 6) 7 Tyler Underwood 14.064 7) 20 Mike Ling 14.067 8) 07 Ryan Litt 14.096 9) 75 John Hotchkiss 14.159 10) 31 Harry Parish 14.182 11) 4 Troy Underwood 14.214 12) 24 Bill Tyler 14.221 13) 69 Tim Ryan 14.400 14) 10 Bill Jacoby 14.471 15) 61 Jason Blonde 14.585 16) 34 Johnny Scherer 14.685 17) 97 Ben Hidy 14.714 18) 70 George Gustafson 14.714 19) 61e E.J. Calloway 14.782 20) 8 Cody Tyler 16.003 21) 57 Brian Welch 16.064

United Trailers Heat #1 (1:53.438): 1) 31 Harry Parish 2) 99 Dorman Snyder 3) 20 Mike Ling 4) 34 Johnny Scherer 5) 69 Tim Ryan 6) 61e E.J. Calloway 7) 26 Jeff Bloom

Dowker Engines Heat #2 (no time): 1) 10 Bill Jacoby 2) 50m Cameron Dodson 3) 4 Troy Underwood 4) 97 Ben Hidy 5) 8 Cody Tyler 6) 07 Ryan Litt 7) 71 Curt Shumaker

All Pro Cylinder Heads Heat #3 (1:54.535): 1) 70 George Gustafson 2) 24 Bill Tyler 3) 61 Jason Blonde 4) 7 Tyler Underwood 5) John Hotchkiss 6) 42 Tommy Fedewa 7) 57 Brian Welch

Auto Value/ Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints A-Main, 30 Laps (no time) 1) 7 Tyler Underwood 2) 71 Curt Shumaker 3) 99 Dorman Snyder 4) 42 Tommy Fedewa 5) 50m Cameron Dodson 6) 20 Mike Ling 7) 26 Jeff Bloom 8) 31 Harry Parish 9) 24 Bill Tyler 10) 61 Jason Blonde 11) 69 Tim Ryan 12) 97 Ben Hidy 13) 07 Ryan Litt 14)10 Bill Jacoby 15)34 Johnny Scherer 16)8 Cody Tyler 17)4 Troy Underwood 18) 57 Brian Welch 19) 75 John Hotchkiss 20) 70 George Gustafson 21) 61e E.J. Calloway

Lap Leaders: Tyler Underwood 1-30

KSE Hard Charger: Jason Blonde +5