Brian Lay Squeezes By for Win at Auto City

By Duane Turner

FLINT, Mich. (June 10, 2006) –
Brian Lay from Toledo, OH grabbed his first win of the 2006 racing season by squeezing past Tommy Fedewa on the final lap to take the win by a mere one foot. “This is awesome!” Stated Lay in the Auto City Speedway Winners Circle. “I just kept trying to move forward. When I got by Ryan (Katz), I could see Tommy, but I was not sure if I could catch him. Then the caution come out at the perfect time, and gave me a chance to go after him (Fedewa). I just need to thank my dad, and the entire crew who helps out.”

Dennis Craft and Tommy Fedewa would lead the 20 car field down to take the green flag for the 30 lap event. Fedewa and Craft raced side by side down the front straight, with Fedewa claiming the advantage in turn number one. Katz snuck into second with Craft, Troy Underwood, and Jason Blonde in the top five. The first few circuits left the field to settle down until lap six when Brian Lay moved past Jimmy McCune to take sixth. One lap later, Blonde pulled to the outside of Craft to battle for the fourth position. While Craft and Blonde were racing each other, Lay would take advantage of both of them and move in to fourth coming out of turn four.

The first caution flag of the event waved on lap nine as Troy Underwood spun in turn two. Underwood kept the car under power, but took his sprint car back to the pit area. This moved Lay up to third, with McCune and Craft in the top five. On the 10th lap, Blonde was able to finally move past Craft to claim the fifth position. Through the middle stages of the event, the top five raced nose to tail with no serious challenges for a position. Through the mid part of the pack, Curt Shumaker, and Ryan Litt began to move their way forward. Litt moved into the sixth position on lap 12, with Shumaker taking seventh on lap 14. Then Shumaker set his sights on Litt for the sixth place. On lap 16, Shumaker made the pass, and quickly closed in on Blonde for the fifth position.

Lay would track down second place running Katz, and would make the pass with just six laps remaining. Lay was quicker than race leader Fedewa, but with laps winding down, Lay need some help. That help came on lap 27 when Hank Lower would spin in turn four to bring out the final caution. The 2.7 second lead that Fedewa had before the caution, was now down to zero. On the restart, the top three of Fedewa, Lay and Katz were nose to tail, and no lapped traffic to slow them down. Katz quickly made a bid to retake second, but Lay was up to the challenge, and had his focus on Fedewa for the lead. As Fedewa took the white flag, Lay made a move to the inside in turn one, but Fedewa closed the door keeping the advantage down the back straight. In turn three, Fedewa pushed up the track just a little bit leaving the door open for Lay. The top two made some contact as the entered turn four, but not enough to slow either down. As the exited the final corner, Fedewa held a slight advantage on the high side, but brushed the wall allowing Lay to surge ahead at the finish line.

Several minutes were taken to review video tape of the finish to make sure the proper call was made, and Lay was declared the winner by less than 12 inches. Katz, McCune and Blonde were the top five. Shumaker, Litt, Mike Ling, Tyler Underwood and Dennis Craft rounded out the top ten. Jimmy McCune set the pace in Hamilton Trucking time trials with a lap of 12.988. Fedewa, Katz and Johnny Scherer took the heat race wins, while Blonde set a new 12 lap record to claim the All Pro Cylinder Heads B-Main.

Up next for the Auto Value/ Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints is a trip to Toledo Speedway and “The Fastest Short Track Show in the World” on Friday, June 16th. Then Saturday, June 17th, the AVSS moves across the Ohio/ Indiana border to Ft. Wayne, IN and Baer Field Speedway. For more information, log on to the official AVSS web site at

Race Summary

Hamilton Trucking Time Trials: 1) 19 Jimmy McCune 12.988 2) 71 Curt Shumaker 13.129 3) 10 Jason Blonde 13.143 4) 45 Brian Lay 13.203 5) 24 Bill Tyler 13.333 6) 9 Chad Goff 13.405 7) 84 A.J. Lane 13.407 8) 35 Ryan Katz 13.432 9) 4 Troy Underwood 13.440 10) 42 Tommy Fedewa 13.456 11) 70 Dennis Craft 13.463 12) 37 Hank Lower 13.500 13) 07 Ryan Litt 13.564 14) 97b Ike Beasley 13.577 15) 75 Mike Ling 13.600 16) 8 Ryan Davis 13.633 17) 31 Harry Parish 13.667 18) 3a Mike Astrauskas 13.697 19) 34 Johnny Scherer 13.727 20) 7 Tyler Underwood 13.730 21) 69 Tim Ryan 13.765 22) 20 Aaron Katz 13.766 23) 1 Scott Seaton 13.782 24) 97 Ben Hidy 13.871 25) 87 Landon Hidy 13.995 26) 57 Brian Welch 14.493

United Trailers Heat Race: (1:49.551) 1) 42 Tommy Fedewa 2) 31 Harry Parish 3) 45 Brian Lay 4) 07 Ryan Litt 5) 19 Jimmy McCune 6) 84 A.J. Lane 7) 7 Tyler Underwood 8) 1 Scott Seaton 9) 57 Brian Welch

Dowker Engines Heat Race (1:51.573) 1) 35 Ryan Katz 2) 71 Curt Shumaker 3) 3a Mike Astrauskas 4) 75 Mike Ling 5) 70 Dennis Craft 6) 97b Ike Beasley 7) 24 Bill Tyler 8) 69 Tim Ryan 9) 97 Ben Hidy

Access Mortgage and Financial Heat Race (1:49.605) 1) 34 Johnny Scherer 2) 37 Hank Lower 3) 4 Troy Underwood 4) 8 Ryan Davis 5) 87 Landon Hidy 6) 10 Jason Blonde 7) 9 Chad Goff 8) 20 Aaron Katz

All Pro Cylinder Heads B-main (2:44.878, new 12 lap record) 1) 10 Jason Blonde 2) 24 Bill Tyler 3) 9 Chad Goff 4) 69 Tim Ryan 5) 7 Tyler Underwood 6) 97b Ike Beasley 7) 1 Scott Seaton 8) 20 Aaron Katz 9) 84 A.J. Lane 10) 97 Ben Hidy 11) 57 Brian Welch dns

Auto Value/ Bumper to Bumper A-main (no time): 1) 45 Brian Lay 2) 42 Tommy Fedewa 3) 35 Ryan Katz 4) 19 Jimmy McCune 5) 10 Jason Blonde 6) 71 Curt Shumaker 7) 07 Ryan Litt 8) 75 Mike Ling 9) 7 Tyler Underwood 10) 70 Dennis Craft 11) 9 Chad Goff 12) 69 Tim Ryan 13) 34 Johnny Scherer 14) 8 Ryan Davis 15) 20 Aaron Katz 16) 37 Hank Lower 17) 31 Harry Parish 18) 87 Landon Hidy 19) 4 Troy Underwood 20) 3a Mike Astrauskas 21) 24 Bill Tyler dns