An Inside Look - Previewing Kalamazoo Speedway on June 7

Story by Kyle Larson
Photo by Bill Miller

ANDERSON, Ind. (June 4, 2014) – The Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints (AVBBSS) will be in action for the second consecutive week on Saturday, June 7 at Kalamazoo (MI) Speedway.

Most Recent Series Event - Saturday, May 31 - Angola (IN) Motorsport Speedway:
Ohio's Jimmy McCune got to the inside of leader Jason Blonde on lap eight and then drove away from this competition to win the season opener at Angola Motorsport Speedway. Blonde finished in second position, 3.930 seconds behind McCune. Third was Joe Swanson with Chris Neuenschwander and Jacob Wilson rounding out the top-five finishers.

News and Notes:
Jimmy McCune earned his seventh series victory and also recorded his second consecutive podium finish.  
- Ryan Gillenwater grabbed the Hamilton Trucking Fast Qualifier Award at Angola with a quick lap of  12.307 seconds at 109.694 mph.
- Heat race at Angola were won by Davey Hamilton Jr., Brian Gerster and Kevin Feeney.
- Jo Jo Helberg will make his season debut in the Smith Motorsports No. 71 at Kalamazoo. Last year, Helberg posted series wins at Dixie (MI) Motor Speedway and Kalamazoo.
- Dirt specialist Dustin Daggett will make his debut in the Dennis Craft No. 70. The team is expected to make several starts during the 2014 campaign.
- Davey Hamilton Jr. finished in eighth position at Angola. He is planning a full season effort with the series.
- Two-time series winner Ike Beasley made his return after several years away from Sprint Car Racing. They team battled mechanical woes at Angola, but will be returning to the series in the next few weeks.

2013 Winner at Kalamazoo Speedway:
Saturday, July 20 - Jo Jo Helberg

Event Information:
Saturday, June 7, 2014

  2:30 PM - Practice Begins
  7:00 PM - Racing Begins
  Times Local to Track

  Adults $20
  10-15 - $10
  9 and Under Free

For track layout, physical address, directions, phone, facebook, twitter and website address click track logo.