News & Notes Heading Into Final Two Events

Story by Kyle Larson
Photo by
R&S Racing Photos

CASSOPOLIS, Mich. (August 14, 2014) – After Troy DeCaire earned his second victory during the 2014 Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprint Series at Illiana (IN) Motor Speedway on August 2, the Winged Sprint Car series is in the middle of a 29 day break. takes a look at the top season performers and some news & notes in the 19th season of racing. 

Points Update:
#1 - Jason Blonde - 1,038 Points
- The Five-time champion is closing in on his sixth series crown and second consecutive. This season he has notched seven top-five finishes along with a division leading 11 top 10s. Top finishes for Blonde this year include runner-up finishes at Angola (5/31), Toledo (6/14) and Dixie (6/27).

#2 - Kevin Feeney - 944 Points
- The 2010 champion has produced another consistent season ranking second in the points. The Oxford, Mich., veteran has notched 10-top finishes aboard the Marv Carman Motorsports No. 61. His best finish took place at Kalamazoo in the second event of the season, flashing across the finish line in fourth spot. 

#3 - Davey Hamilton Jr. - 927 Points
 - In his first full season of Winged Sprint Car racing, the High School Student has put together an impressive season. The third generation racer has posted seven top fives and 10 top 10s in only 12 starts. Davey's best finishes are three third-place finishes at Kalamazoo (6/7), Toledo (6/13) and Toledo (7/2).

He was unable to start two features. The first occurred at M-40 Speedway on June 14 when axle failure sent the No. 60 hard into the outside retaining wall during practice. In the next event at Dixie on June 27, mechanical issues during practice forced the team to withdraw and head back to Indianapolis before racing.

#4 - Jo Jo Helberg - 826 Points
- The California racer has started nine of 12 events with six feature victories and nine top-five finishes. His wins this year include Kalamazoo (6/7), M-40 (6/14), Dixie (6/27), Toledo (7/2), Winchester (7/4) and M-40 (7/19). In the three King of the Wing, Jo Jo wheeled his familiar Helberg Motorsports No. 7 while during the AVBBSS he has been driving for Steve Smith Motorsports.

#5 - Tom Geren - 709 Points
- One of the lowest budget efforts in the series has notched two-top 10 finishes this season. Best performances have included a ninth place at Dixie on June 27 and 10th at M-40 on June 14.

#6 - Teddy Alberts - 690 Points
- Two top 10s and one heat race win. Top feature performance has been seventh at New Paris.

#7 - Troy DeCaire - 676 Points
- Three feature wins taking place at M-40 (6/14) and Illiana (8/2). Scored eight top fives, lowest finish has been fourth.

#8 - Joe Swanson - 565 Points
- Three top fives and five top 10s with best showing of second at Kalamazoo.

#9 - Mike Astraukas - 451 Points
- Limited schedule this season with four top-10 finishes.

#10 - Ron Koehler - 421 Points
- Oldest driver on the circuit has notched two top-10 finishes with best of eighth at New Paris.

News & Notes:
- With driving into the winner's circle at the half-mile oval of Toledo Speedway on June 14 during the World's Fastest Short Track Show, Ryan Litt has 11 career wins and is tied for eighth on the all-time list with Hurrin' Hank Lower.
- 17 drivers have won heat races this season with Jo Jo Helberg topping the list with four wins. Drivers that have scored three wins include Jason Blonde, Kevin Feeney and Troy DeCaire
- Seven drivers have earned Hamilton Trucking Fast Qualifier Awards with Helberg topping that list with five. Ryan Gillenwater has notched two with single fast times being won by DeCaire, Jeff Fuller, Kyle Edwards, Ryan Litt and Aaron Pierce.
- When Jerry Caryer scored the victory at New Paris, he became the 62nd driver to earn a feature victory in the 19 year history of the series.

Coming Up: