Labor Day Weekend Tradition Continues with
Winged Sprint Cars at Angola Motorsport Speedway

Story by Kyle Larson
s by Bill Miller

CASSOPOLIS, Mich. (August 27, 2014) – The Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints (AVBBSS) are back in action on Sunday, August 31 at the 3/8-mile oval of Angola (IN) Motorsport Speedway. The Jerry Carmen Memorial will feature a 50-lap feature event. This is the second and final visit to Angola during the 2014 season.

The Sunday night event continues a Winged Sprint Car tradition at Angola during Labor Day Weekend. This race marks the fifth consecutive year Winged Sprints have been showcased at the Northern Indiana oval. In the previous four events, Jimmy McCune has scored two race victories with Chris Neuenschwander and Joe Swanson also visiting the winner’s circle.

Michigan's Jason Blonde is on the verge of this sixth Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints title and second straight series crown. He has collected seven top-five finishes along with a division leading 11 top 10s. Second in the standings is 2010 titlist Kevin Feeney, who has 10 top 10s and a best showing of second at Kalamazoo (MI) Speedway. The remainder of the top five includes Davey Hamilton Jr., six-time race winner Jo Jo Helberg and veteran campaigner Tom Geren.

Drivers that have scored feature victories in 2014 include McCune (Angola), Helberg (Kalamazoo, Dixie, Toledo, Winchester, M-40, Dixie), Ryan Litt (Toledo), Troy DeCaire (M-40, Grundy County, Illiana) and Jerry Caryer (New Paris).

In the most recent series event at Angola on May 31, McCune passed early race leader Blonde on lap eight and then pulled way to win the 19th season opener of the Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints. Blonde finished in second with Joe Swanson placing third. Chris Neuenschwander and Jacob Wilson completed the top five. 

On Sunday, practice begins at 3:30 p.m. with qualifying set for 5:30 and racing starting at 7. Tickets for Adults are $18, Students & Seniors - $15 with Kids 10 & Under free. If needed, the rain date will be Saturday, September 6.