Sprint Car Portion of Eddie Gilstrap Motors Legends
Classic Removed from Saturday Race Schedule at Salem

SALEM, Ind. (May 28, 2015) – In a joint statement released today the Salem Speedway Fueled by the Hoosier Lottery and the USAC/Auto Value Super Sprints Series announced the removal of the sprint car portion from Saturday’s Eddie Gilstrap Motors Legends Classic.

“With the weather forecast of rain for this weekend it has been decided by all parties involved that cancelling the sprint portion of Saturday’s race is in the best interest of the race fans and competitors,” said Salem Speedway general manager Richard Deaton.

Only the sprint car segment of the Eddie Gilstrap Motors Legends classic is affected by the weather related cancellation.

“The stockcar portion of Saturday’s race is not impacted by the sprint car removal and is still scheduled to take place weather permitting,” said Deaton.

“We were certainly looking forward to returning to Salem Speedway and putting on a great show for the fans,” said Tom Hartsel, president of the USAC/Auto Value Super Sprints Series. “However, the impending weather forecast and travel distance required for our race teams could very well compromise the number of sprint cars in attendance. We only want to return to Salem with a full field of cars and that cannot be guaranteed under the current conditions.”

Due to the busy track and series schedules a makeup date for 2015 could not be worked out.

The popular Lucas Oil Great American Stocks, O’Reilly Auto Parts Pure Stocks and Portland Recycling Front Wheel Drive Stocks are still scheduled for action on Saturday at Salem.

Todd Kempf of Huntingburg, Ind., winner of the first two GAS races of the season, will be attempting to become the first series driver to win three straight points races since Frank Kimmel II strung together four straight wins during the 2007 and 2008 seasons.

Mike Kestler of Louisville (O’Reilly Auto Parts Pure Stocks) and Jesse Allen of Lanesville, Ind., (Portland Recycling Front Wheel Drive Stocks) are both leading their respective divisions by slim two point margins heading into Saturday action.

Spectator gates open at 3 p.m. on Saturday, with practice getting underway at 3:30 p.m., qualifications at 5:45 p.m. and the first race rolling off at 7 p.m. (EDT).