An Inside Look - 37th Appearance at Berlin on Saturday

Story by Kyle Larson

CASSOPLOLIS, Mich. (July 4, 2016) — The Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints presented by Royal Purple return to Berlin Raceway in Marne, Mich. on Saturday, July 9. This event marks the 37th appearance at the historic Michigan Short Track and the first race at the .438-mile oval in three years.

2016 Championship Points (After 4 of 12 Events):
After three events of the Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprints presented by Royal Purple defending series champion Aaron Pierce sits atop the point standings. The Daleville, Ind., racer has two top-10 finishes, two fast time awards and leads Bobby Santos Jr. by 72 points. Third is Jason Conn with Ron Larson and Sierra Jackson rounding out the top-five.

Most Recent Event at Berlin Raceway (May 18, 2013):
Mike Ling earned his second consecutive victory of the season after claiming the checkered flag at Berlin. Ling, and Tim Cox led the field to the green flag for the 30 lap A-main with Ling taking control of the field. By the fifth circuit, Ling had built a comfortable lead, with Cox, and Bill Tyler also pulling away from the rest of the field with Jason Blonde advancing to challenge for a top-five position. .

Near the halfway point, Blonde moved into third position after driving around Tyler. Just a couple laps later, Blonde moved behind Cox, and made the pass in turn two. Ling and Blonde then put on a tremendous show for the lead with Blonde taking the point. After a yellow a few laps later Blonde was involved in a spin and had to restart from the tail, giving the lead back to Ling.

Over the final 10 laps, Ling pulled away, but all eyes were on Blonde as he moved back through the field. He quickly moved back in to the fifth position behind Swanson. Swanson, however, was the fastest car over the final five laps. With just three laps remaining, Swanson would pass Feeney for third, then would take over the runner-up spot on the white flag lap. Ling finished ahead of Swanson was second with Cox in third position, Kevin Feeney and Blonde rounded out the top five.

Former Winners at Berlin Raceway:

07/05/1997 Bill Tyler
08/30/1997 Bill Tyler
07/04/1998 Gary Fedewa
09/05/1998 Gary Fedewa
07/03/1999 Tom Fedewa
09/04/1999 Tom Fedewa
07/01/2000 Steve Surniak
09/02/2000 Ryan Katz
06/30/2001 Gary Fedewa
09/01/2001 Kevin Feeney
06/29/2002 Tim Cox
08/31/2002 Kevin Feeney
06/28/2003 Tom Fedewa
08/30/2003 Dave Baumgartner
06/26/2004 Jason Blonde
09/11/2004 Jason Blonde
06/25/2005 Cameron Dodson
09/03/2005 Cameron Dodson
06/24/2006 Brian Lay
09/02/2006 Ryan Litt
06/30/2007 Jason Blonde
09/01/2007 Jeff Bloom
09/28/2007 Jimmy McCune
09/29/2007 Brian Gerster
06/28/2008 Jeff Bloom
08/30/2008 Jeff Bloom
09/27/2008 Ryan Litt
06/27/2009 Jeff Bloom
09/05/2009 Jason Blonde
09/26/2009 Derek Snyder
05/22/2010 Geoff Kaiser
09/04/2010 Mike Ling
07/23/2011 Jason Blonde
09/03/2011 Jason Blonde
07/21/2012 Jason Blonde
05/18/2013 Mike Ling

Berlin Raceway - Saturday, July 9
Event Information

1:00 PM - Pit Area Opens
  3:00 PM - Practice
  4:50 PM - Qualifying
  6:30 PM - Racing Begins
Times Local to Track

Adult Tickets $12.00
Kids 8-11 $5.00

For track layout, physical address, directions, phone, facebook, twitter and website address please click track logo.